Our History

Situated in the heart of Central West NSW, St. Edward's is a small school entrenched in the history of the vibrant Canowindra community. We owe our foundation to the Sisters of St Joseph, who established the school in 1908. Their work began as a response to the spiritual needs of the early settlers, creating a legacy that we proudly carry forward.

The original Convent and school were located in the buildings now known as Neville’s Flats on Short Street, close to the school, Convent and Church’s present site. It was originally a three-teacher school catering to the needs of the primary and infant students, with the original name being Holy Trinity School.

In the early days, travel to and from school was often by foot or horse and sulky. Children came to school when they could, and the Sisters went beyond their teaching duties, providing care for remote student boarders as well. During the 1930s, the school continued to grow, and a secondary school was established.

In recent years, St. Edward's has seen significant transformations. The last two decades, in particular, have been marked by extensive upgrades and redesigns of all our learning spaces. Our playground has been redeveloped, and our garden spaces have been improved, making them more conducive to modern learning and play.

St. Edward's rich history spans more than 100 years, and it's been shaped by the countless contributions of staff and families, and the many boys and girls who have passed through its doors. As we look towards the future, we honour this shared journey and the role each member of our community has played in creating our ongoing legacy.